Te Ara Maurea

Te Ara Maurea continuum

Te Ara Maurea is a continuum based on te orokohanga o te ao, from eons of darkness to living earth.

Instead of a traditional Likert scale, Te Ara Maurea is a means for people to identify their state of being and express it in a way that is non-judgemental. It's not about on good vs bad, or right vs wrong. It's simply identifying 'who am I being'  or 'what is my state of being' at this moment in time.

People operate in a non-linear way. Some days we can be in Te Kore Kore - a place for energy potential. When we're able to identify it as such, we can put things into place to move across the continuum into Te Ao Mārama - enlightenment. From there we can make further choices to shift towards Tihei-Wa Mauri Ora - a flourishing state.

States of Te Ara Maurea

The Darkest State

  • Powerless
  • Fearing the unknown
  • Constraint

Powerless: fearing the unknown constraints

The Unseeing State

  • Confused
  • Dreading the known
  • Conflict

Confused: dreading the known conflict

The Awakening State

  • Uncertain
  • Avoiding
  • Rejection

Uncertain: avoiding rejection

The Awareness State

  • Pensive
  • Reflecting
  • Restriction

Pensive: reflecting on restrictions

The Action State

  • Curious
  • Considering
  • Vagueness

Curious: considering vagueness

The Intentional State

  • Willing
  • Open
  • Possibility

Willing: open to possibility

The Deliberate State

  • Calculated
  • Surrender
  • Insight

Calculated: surrender to insight

The Practice State

  • Instinctive
  • Embody
  • Clarity

Instinctive: embody clarity

The Consolidating State

  • Collected
  • Grateful
  • Manifestation

Collected: grateful manifestation

The Living State

  • Balanced
  • Contented
  • Stability

Balanced: contented stability

The Flourishing State

  • Courageous
  • Peaceful
  • Freedom

Courageous: peaceful freedom